Mona’s Pot Roast

This recipe is from one of my favorite people in the whole world, my friend Annie’s mother, Mona. She’s one of the most kind-hearted, sweetest, warmest women I’ve ever met and has created a home that is the absolute opposite of those that we all pine after in cooking or home and garden magazines…It’s rough, it’s cluttered, it’s dirty, it’s poorly designed, but it’s one of the most comfortable, welcoming places I’ve ever had the pleasure of spending time. I’m family there. It’s my home away from home. This recipe is one of Mona’s and I always ask for it when I go visit 🙂 I made an attempt at it, but it wasn’t nearly as good as hers…I’ll be continuing to work at it until I get it down pat 😉 I don’t think I managed to properly sear both sides of the roast, nor did my onions get nice and carmelized the way Mona’s always are. Next time I go visit we’re going to make it together so that I can get a better feel for the recipe. Anyway! It still turned out tasty! This is, for me, the epitome of comfort food.

Mona’s Pot Roast

Beef roast
Carrots
Potatoes
Onions
Mushrooms (optional)
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Salt and pepper
Lawry’s

“The size of the roast and number of different vegetables will obviously with the number you want to serve.  Start by placing my roasting pan on the stove burner and adding just enough olive or vegetable oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Turn the burner on high. Rinse and pat the meat dry. While the oil is heating sprinkle one side of the roast with liberal amounts of garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and lawry’s seasoning. Rub the seasonings in then, when the oil is hot, carefully place the meat in the pan, seasoned side down. While that side is searing sprinkle the same seasonings to opposite side.  You want to almost burn the first side before turning it over and searing the other side. I usually peel my veggies while the meat is doing its thing. I peel potatoes and either quarter or halve them depending on how big they are. I always add at least 3 or 4 onions. I quarter a couple and drop them in just as the second side of the meat is done. Turn the burner off but leave the pan on it. Add your potatoes and the rest of the onions. Then add carrots. I usually peel them and cut in about 4 inch sections. I don’t usually split them.

Add a little water to the pan to stop the searing/burning process then sprinkle more of all the seasonings across the top. You should not really see the roast because it is covered in potatoes and carrots. After adding the seasoning slowly pour water back and forth across the top so some of the spices are washed down through the rest of the veggies. The water should completely cover the meat and most of the vegetables. Cover with a lid that has no openings in it or use a couple layers of aluminum foil. Place in oven at about 325 F  for a few hours or more. Time will vary depending on amount of ingredients. You may have to add a little water while it is roasting. This is important, it is one of the reasons the meat gets so tender. Tastes great with any kind of bread. If you like mushrooms those can be added as well, place them on top of the carrots. If you have leftovers this makes great beef stew, just add some water and peas. It also makes good homemade pot pie, add some brown gravy, whatever canned veggies you like and bake.”

-Mona L

Delicious, crispy, seared roast...Mmmm...

Delicious, crispy, seared roast...Mmmm...

Chives, potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms :)

Chives, potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms 🙂

Theres something so gorgeous about this picture.  I just want to dive into there and swim around with my mouth open :O

There's something so gorgeous about this picture. I just want to dive into there :O

Tasty bowl of veggies!  All done :)

Tasty bowl of veggies! All done 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

