Chicken Fajitas

Well, this was originally intended to be a healthy meal.  And maybe it would have been, if I had stuck to the original plan and grilled the chicken instead of pan-frying it.  I wasn’t too lazy to dig out the George Foreman miniature grill, but I was too lazy to clean it up afterwards, so that deterred me from using it.  That thing is a bitch to clean.  There is no easy way to do it.  And I wasn’t about to go attempt firing up a charcoal grill just for two little chicken breasts.

Green bell pepper, chopped fairly small.  Most people slice them, but I hate peppers, so I made them teeny so I wouldnt notice them so much ;)

Green bell pepper, chopped fairly small. Most people slice them, but I hate peppers, so I made them teeny so I wouldn't notice them so much 😉 They do look pretty, though.

Shredded, pan-fried chicken breast.

Shredded, pan-fried chicken breast.

Frying up the onions and peppers.

Frying up the onions and peppers.

All done and ready to dish out into the tortillas.

All done and ready to dish out into the tortillas.

Ready to roll! ;)

Ready to roll! 😉

Mmmm...

Mmmm...

Chicken Fajitas

1 Medium onion, sliced in long strips
1/2 Green bell pepper, diced (You can use more, of course, and it’s generally sliced in long strips like the onion, but…I hate peppers, so I diced them up teeny tiny)
2 Chicken breasts
1 Lime
Cumin
Garlic powder
Chili powder
Salt and pepper
Olive oil
Tortillas (I much prefer corn tortillas, but I believe that flour is more traditional in this case)
Minced garlic (optional)
Adobo seasoning (optional)

The first thing you want to do is get your chicken breasts butterflied, pounded to an even thickness, and marinating in a mixture of lime juice, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and garlic flavorings (powder and minced, if you choose).  I just did it to taste…I’m really bad about using specific measurements.  To juice your lime, roll it around on the countertop, pressing firmly, to free up all the juices.  Slice it in half with a sharp knife and squeeeeeeze into a bowl.  Make sure you remove any seeds, but chunks of pulpy lime meat are okay 😉 Once your chicken breasts are marinating, you can prepare the onions and pepper.  Feel free to use the whole pepper if you like that kind of thing.  I’m not a fan of peppers, at all, so I diced them really tiny to avoid having to bite into giant pieces of them, but to still get some of their flavor which is so important in a fajita.  Slice the onion and pepper into strips.  Toss them into a pan with a bit of olive oil.  I sprinkled them with salt, pepper, and just a bit of cumin, chili-, and garlic powder, as well as some Adobo.  Cook slow on medium-low heat.  You want them nice and soft and browned through.  In another pan, you can get your chicken frying with a bit of olive oil.  Cook it through to juicy perfection and then grab two forks.  Stick the forks in and pull it apart, shredding the meat into strips.  Some people let it cool and slice it into even chunks, but I like this better.  Dump it in with the onions and peppers, swirl it around, let it cook together a bit longer, and then dish it out into tortillas and roll ’em up!  All ready to eat 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

