Morels!

My dad brought home wild morel mushrooms from his turkey hunting trip in Northern Illinois 🙂 They actually kind of gross me out…They’re so icky looking.  And they have bugs in them!  I kid you not, I was cutting them up and I sliced a slug in half.  What the hell?  lol!  That’s what happens when you get things straight from nature, I guess.  I rinsed them, sliced them in half, and then soaked them overnight in a bowl of salt water, which kills off all the bugs and helps in rinsing away and dirt and debris.  It also rehydrated them a bit as they were starting to dry out.

Before rinsing and slicing.

Before rinsing and slicing.

Sliced and rinsed, ready to soak in the salt water bath.

Sliced and rinsed, ready to soak in the salt water bath.

Mmmm, delicious!

Mmmm, delicious!

This morning I chopped them fine, sauteed them in butter with onions and a bit of garlic and put them in an omelet.  Absolutely divine.  I’m thinking about making cream of mushroom soup with them.  Any other suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

