Egg Drop Soup

Since I’m finally getting to cook for the first time in months, there is probably going to be a flood of entries, with pretty pictures of yummy food 🙂 This recipe is super easy and super fun.  I think it’d probably be a neat one for kids to do because…hell.  I’m nineteen years old and I still think it’s a blast to watch the little egg ribbons drop in and cook up in strands and float to the top of the pot, hehe.  I cheated and had Market Day frozen egg rolls with it, with leftover sweet and sour sauce, but still…damn yummy!  The recipe is my adaption of a bunch of different recipes, so I can’t really cite a source.  Also, I tend to not measure things when I cook…I just eyeball it, so.  Bear with me.  I’ve been making this for ages 🙂 It’s kinda become a weird comfort food for me.  Anywayyy.  Here’s my recipe for egg drop soup.

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t141/ezjess/DSC00046-1.jpg

Egg Drop Soup and Egg Rolls.

Egg Drop Soup

  • Chicken broth (I’d do about one to one and a half cups for one serving, I suppose. And I use bouillon mix stuff to make the broth. When I have my own place I’ll probably make my own stock, but it’s easier at this point to just do the powder.)
  • One egg, beaten (Probably about one egg per serving.)
  • Fresh ginger (Just a hint, grated.)
  • Soy sauce (Just a little splash.)
  • Green onion (Sliced, for garnish and a little extra flavor.)
  • Salt and pepper

Combine the broth, soy sauce, and ginger in a pot and bring to a boil. I like mine bubbling like crazy so that the egg gets really stringy as it cooks. In a small bowl, whisk the egg with a fork. This is usually where I add the salt and pepper, since the broth itself already has quite a bit of flavor, but the egg is all on its own at this point. Then, holding the bowl over the boiling broth, “spoon” in little bits of egg, letting them drop off the tines of the fork. Watch the egg sink to the bottom and then float up in pretty little strands as it cooks! (That’s my favorite part.) I like to keep stirring the broth to keep the cooked pieces moving and keep them broken up, otherwise, as you add more egg, it’ll all cook together in a big chunk and that’s just gross. Anyway, once you’ve dropped in all the egg, you’re done and it’s ready to serve! Ladle into a bowl, garnish with the onions, and enjoy! Honestly, the ginger, soy sauce, and green onions are optional. This is just as yummy with just broth and egg, but the extras definitely do add a little something. I didn’t have green onions on hand so the photo is sans onions 😉

Just for shits and giggles, heres my goofy dog enjoying one of her favorite toys.

Just for shits and giggles, here's my goofy dog enjoying one of her favorite toys.

And just for the record, tomorrow…I’m making manicotti.  Should be interesting 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

